Some Updates

I realized its been a few weeks since my last entry, and that is a good and a bad thing. Not too much relating to my journey has happened, positive or negative. I just keep plugging away, and not paying attention to the numbers on the scale but rather all the things I can do now that were not possible less than a year ago.

Most of you that follow me on Facebook have seen that I have been pretty successful at adding new strength and cardio exercises at the gym. I am loving the new variety, and my confidence at trying new machines that seemed intimidating or foreign. Just in the last couple weeks, I have tried the arc trainer, the rowing machine, and the regular exercise bike, along with adding in three leg machines. The arms are going well, with the exception of the bicep curls. For some reason, those just seem to kill my arms, especially my left one. This may be just me, or it may be due to a trait that the Martino men have where we can not fully straighten out our arms. I may try the machine another time or two, and then if I still am feeling too much pain I will discontinue it and perhaps find a replacement.

Meals and eating have gone well, and I treated myself last week by purchasing an air fryer that I found on sale for a great price. I am excited to try it. I think tomorrow night I am going to make chicken breast tenders and brussel sprouts in it! If it works, I will post a picture of the finished products! For those unfamiliar with them, air fryers are like mini convection ovens where you cook or “fry” all sorts of things with no or very little oil, so it is a lot healthier for you. With my oven not working that great, this will be nice to have some crispy food again!

To get a little down on myself, there is one issue that is causing both physical and mental trouble. Below the extra skin of my stomach apron is a bulge between my stomach and inside left leg. This area has been around for quite some time, and is most likely the source of my lymphedema. However, with my weight loss and ever-shifting body shape, the bulge is more pronounced than ever. I can only wear certain pairs of shorts out in public now because it sometimes comes through the legs of them when I sit down. The only real long pants I have for everyday wear are sweats, which I do wear every time at the gym now, but are not great during these summer months. I have a couple inexpensive pairs of lightweight active wear pants on order from Walmart and should get them next week. The physical trait is not only a burden for getting around in certain situations, I have become so self-conscious about it and just catching a glimpse of it makes me want to cry. Unfortunately, this is part of what I will have to wait to have removed surgically until I have been at goal weight for about six months, so I am guessing I will have to deal with it for at least another year. I’ll take flabby arms and thighs any time, I just can’t wait to get rid of this problem. It’s crazy how large and heavy it is!

This Monday I go for my next round of eye injections for the swelling, and then the following Monday I see my NP and psychologist at the weight center. There I will definitely inquire about a prescription to help me sleep. Most nights I am still averaging only about 4-5 hours, and that is usually broken up into segments. Brightness, temperature, etc, do not seem to make a difference. I have tried so many natural remedies that I think it is time for the strong stuff, at least on a temporary basis.

I think that is about it for now. I apologize for not writing sooner. I love you all, and your continued support and encourage still amaze me every day!

Leave a Reply

