Diet & Exercise Appointments

Wednesday this past week I visited with the dietitian and exercise physiologist at the Weight Center. Both visits went fairly well.

Jessica, the dietitian, went over all my medications, fluid intake, diet, and everything in between. Interestingly enough, I discovered I had been taking half of the recommended amount of calcium citrate, but because the kidney stone was most likely caused by too much calcium, she said to keep doing what I have been doing. She did confirm that I can now try things such as bread, brown rice, and pasta, as long as they are whole grain and I eat my protein and vegetables first. I am going to start out slow, but it will be nice to incorporate some more variety into my life.

Truth be told, the visit with exercise physiologist Lori was more interesting to me this time. It was nice to hear that I am making the right kind of progress, even with my setback with the kidney stone. She likes that I am easing into new things and not pushing myself as much. She thinks that my plan to do about an hour at the gym 4-5 times a week is good instead of the 90 or so minutes I was doing before. I did find out that I was doing exercises in the wrong order. I should be doing some kind of cardio warm-up before doing the strength training, something to get my muscles and joints moving. So that is why today I did the treadmill, then arm machines, then the recumbent bike. She also says that shorter times on each cardio machine will make it more diverse and allow me to play with things like speed and resistance more often. She likes that I am working on things like incline and going hands-free on the treadmill as well, working them in a little at a time rather than during the whole routine. I have to say today I went hands-free for several shorter periods, and I was a little sore, but nothing like I was the last time where I could not bend over for 48 hours afterwards!

We also discussed adding in leg exercises, and so next time I am at the gym I am going to try those along with some cardio. She recommended starting with the leg press first a couple times to see how I like it, and then slowly add in leg curls and leg extensions. She said to add one at a time so that if something doesn’t work for me, I know which one it is. We talked about other machines as well, but those are designed to concentrate on specific areas of the legs, so she said let’s master these first and then get more specific if we need to.

I am also going to add the rowing machine into my cardio rotation soon, so that I have three different exercises to choose from and don’t have to do the same thing every time. And, I will also try the Planet Fitness 30-minute express workout soon as well, as that has a little bit of everything and should be low-impact enough to not hurt myself on any machine. Lori also told me that I can do chair squats if I have a day that I don’t feel like going to the gym, or just want to get a little something in at home. Once my whole apartment mess is resolved I will get into those.

Just like my surgeon, I am blessed to have a team of Jessica and Lori that celebrate all of the victories and benefits I have achieved apart from the scale. It is so nice to have such great support. I won’t see these two for three whole months (unless any issues arise), and it will feel strange not seeing them for that long, but that also shows that I am getting better and stronger in my journey.

I hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend. Nothing exciting here except laundry tomorrow LOL! I love you all!

Leave a Reply

