Obsession

Good Afternoon!

Just a brief note to catch everyone up on more of my journey. The most difficult part of this for me has to be not putting too much stock in the numbers on the scale. I’ve written about it before, and I have been better mentally, but it is still extremely challenging. I just expect more dramatic results, but I forget that I came so far before I ever had the surgery, so my body will be different.

Anyway, I try to weigh myself with my home scale once a week, on Wednesdays. Last week I missed it because that was the beginning of my not feeling well and the trip to the hospital. I weighed myself yesterday, and my weight was the exact same that it was two weeks ago, to the ounce.

I was, of course discouraged. The numbers have been at a stall for quite some time it seems. But, then I had to remind myself that considering what I went through last week, this was actually pretty good. For three days, I probably only consumed about 500 calories or less due to stomach pain and the hospital’s crazy diet. I was also very short on protein and water consumption those days, which can impact things as well. Plus, in the hospital, I was pumped with IV fluids and anesthesia for some of the time. That can also cause gain. So, to remain steady over that time really isn’t the end of the world.

And, there’s more. There are certain cargo shorts that I prefer to wear because the longer length looks better with my legs. Unfortunately these are still from the more expensive big and tall online store. Anyway, I had been wearing size 4x in these, and I took a big chance and ordered two pairs of 2x, thinking that I could use them eventually. They came on Saturday, and they actually fit!! From 8x to 2x in under a year and a half! Also, my home help person still insisted that I am losing, so we measured the inches around my waist yesterday, and I am down 1.5 inches from the end of March!

So, my body is still responding, just in different ways. Hopefully the scale will start reflecting it soon, but at least I know that I am still headed in the right direction.

Just had to share my victories from this week. Love you all!

One thought on “Obsession

Leave a Reply

