Wounds and Other Updates

I wanted to take a few minutes to write on this blog since it’s been a little while, but I know most of you are following my Facebook updates.

I went to wound care today, and both are progressing slowly but surely. The shin wound from the bike incident is pretty much completely healed. I just have to keep a bandage on it for two more weeks, and only change it once. The groin wound is pretty much status quo, as can be expected. I did ask her about using a different covering, as the 5×9 pads we use tend to fall out more often with the weight changes 😀. Unfortunately her solution is to use tape. I am trying it now but it will depend on how easily it comes off as to whether or not I continue the tape or just take my chances. I go back in five weeks.

While there, I stepped on their scale, as well as checking on my scale at home. Different numbers, but they actually both showed an increase of one pound from last week. I am not stressing out at all. There are so many factors that go into weight (exercise, water, salt intake, bowel movements, etc), that I know better than to be concerned just yet. I think this time is probably due to the increase in arm exercises and maybe building more muscle.

The other interesting thing this morning was my blood pressure check. The nurse put it on my left lower arm, and it came out as 104/43!! It has never been that low for me! I am seeing my endocrinologist Monday and will talk to him about reducing or eliminating more of my BP meds. It’s still amazing all of the positive changes that are coming at such a rapid pace.

As most of you have seen, I am loving the gym. Yesterday’s 50 minutes on the treadmill did wear me out a little bit more, but I was not on my usual machine. When I go back Friday, I will do another 50 minutes and see if I can go more or wait until the next time. Music has been a huge help during these workouts. Last week was Michael Jackson’s greatest hits, and over the weekend I discovered a playlist on Amazon Prime called Never Give Up, with great songs from Kelly Clarkson, Pink, Katy Perry, and of course my Fight Song. Awesome music that kept me pumped and singing along (to myself LOL).

And, not sure how many saw this, but I have penciled in my first 5k walk for Saturday May 6! I am not concerned with speed, just going as far as I can go and crossing the finish line. If you would like to join us, or come out for support, let me know and I will give you the details.

I love you all! Have a wonderful day, and as always, thank you!!

Leave a Reply

