Five Weeks In

It’s still hard to believe that it will be five weeks tomorrow since my surgery! January flew right by faster than I ever thought possible!

So far I am still doing great! Incisions are continuing to heal nicely. I have one that does not want to behave and is a little black and blue, but nothing too bad. I only occasionally have pain in my abdomen, just enough to let me know the body is still recovering. But it has been quite some time since I have taken even Tylenol for it.

For not leaving my apartment very often (mostly due to weather and sidewalk conditions), I am still finding myself more active than I was before. I ended up at over 42,000 steps for January, which is about 10,000 more than December. And even so far this month, most days I get in around 2,000 steps. Every couple hours I take walks up and down the hall, or go up and down the four flights of stairs. Anything to keep moving. Next week I should be cleared for regular exercise, but I may venture out to Planet Fitness this week once or twice and see if they have the Nu-Step machine that I do so well with. If not, I am sure the recumbent bike would not be too strenuous for me right now. I am actually starting to feel restless, which is such a great and strange sensation for me!!

I have no idea what the scale is showing (won’t for another week), but I am not worried about that anymore. I know that I am a lot more healthy than I have been in a long time, and with the reduced amount of calories I am taking in, it is only a matter of time before things go down. My main focus is health and happiness, and I have made so much progress in that already, so everything else will happen when it happens. I can’t obsess about it too much!

Gaston and I have gotten along well so far too, amazingly so. Last week, I tried the ricotta bake, tilapia filet, string cheese, ground turkey in marinara sauce, and chili, to name a few. I have yet to have dumping syndrome, which still continues to scare the heck out of me every time I try something different. I also experimented with a new dessert the other day. I combined a small container of light whipped topping, sugar free vanilla pudding dry mix, two scoops of protein powder, and an Atkins French Vanilla protein shake. It is delicious – like a thicker and more intense vanilla pudding. Plus it is only 115 calories and 11 grams of protein per serving. This week I am going to put boneless skinless chicken thighs in the crock pot with a can of light cream of mushroom soup. Should provide several meals (hopefully it tastes good LOL). Another meal I am looking forward to having once I get back to the store is just lean ham or turkey rolled up with some cheese and a little mayo or mustard. Crazy that a couple of those are a lunch, isn’t it??!!

I would like to try to incorporate more vegetables (cooked) into my diet soon, and still working out how exactly to do that. I saw one recommendation recently that, since protein is the most important, make a meal 2 to 3 ounces of protein, and then 1 to 2 ounces of vegetables. That should work, it is just very odd still to prepare meals and have so much leftover. I am still learning and figuring out the art of meal preparation, and what and what does not freeze well. I do have an appointment with the dietitian next week, so I should get some confirmation from her.

This week is fairly calm, although I am going to the dentist on Thursday for the first time in probably over 5 years. I am a little nervous, but I do know that it is necessary. Hopefully they are a good team. Then next week is the aforementioned check-in with the weight center Tuesday and wound care in Ann Arbor Wednesday. Next are check-ups with the podiatrist on February 23, and my primary doctor on the 27th. March 1 is my first appointment with an eye doctor in several years, so I am excited about that as well. Nice to be concentrating on other areas beside just the weight for a change.

So much for this being a quick check-in like I intended, but I just enjoy sharing all of my journey with all of you. Thank you for continuing to read and follow along. Love you all!!

Leave a Reply

