October Here I Come!

I am just a jumble of anxiousness, excitement, and freaking out right now. The next month is going to prove to be one of the most important so far. So many positive steps and possibilities, but I am still very nervous about it all.

Yesterday I received a call from the Lincoln Park Housing Commission, and they already have an opening for me. It is a studio unit in a building in River Rouge, and I go tomorrow to fill out the paperwork and turn in my first month’s rent and security deposit. We will then be able to go into the unit and take measurements and see exactly what I need and can fit in there. Then the transition will begin. It is exciting for sure, but I really didn’t expect it to be so quick, so this will be very interesting. I know I am ready mentally for it, but the mind plays tricks and I am constantly second guessing myself.

This Monday brings another big day – my consultation with the plastic surgeon about my wound. The wound seems to be getting better in the last week or so since we switched to a collagen packing treatment. The area around it is improving, and the drainage has decreased considerably. But we still want to get the opinions of plastics to see if they have any options other than skin removal surgery. I would rather wait until after the bariatric surgery for that procedure like one would normally do. If U of M can’t help me, I am not sure where to go next.

My next big day is Thursday, October 13, for the last of my required six months at the weight center. Hopefully they will be happy to present my case to insurance for final approval and schedule an appointment with the surgeon. I never thought I would get to this part of my journey, especially with all the numerous hoops I had to jump through since April.

That about sums it up for me currently, feeling a whirlwind of emotions all st once. I thank all of you for your continued prayers and support, you have given me strength I never knew I had! Love you!

3 thoughts on “October Here I Come!

  1. Keep up the good fight & always go with your heart & if something doesn’t smell right then it’s probably not right!
    Keeping you in my thoughts & prayers.

    Like

  2. So many great things happening around you and YOU have made it all happen. You have such a gift for writing. You always did when you did HC Bulletin. Dottie D

    Like

Leave a Reply

