Back on Track

I can breathe a sigh of relief now, I lost the weight that I gained last month!! It had to have been the heat and the swelling. I am so happy you don’t know. Before the weigh in, I didn’t drink as much water as I wanted and I emptied my bladder, to not take any chances LOL. My blood pressure was also down from August, so the staff continue to be happy with the progress we are making. As it gets closer, we will discuss the pre-op diet and insulin adjustments, as well as start other medications such as Ursodiol, which has been shown to decrease the risk of gallstones that commonly form after weight loss surgery. My six month program actually will conclude next month, so I am getting excited and anxious.

Unfortunately my wound continues to be a big hoop for me to jump through. It is still not healing like we would hope. I see wound care next Wednesday, and then I have a consultation with U of M plastic surgery on October 3. I am praying that they will have a solution that is less invasive than skin removal surgery and that this can be wrapped up fairly quickly. The fact is the weight loss surgery is still an elective procedure so they will not do it with an open wound. This weighs heavy(no pun intended) on my heart every day.

Elsewhere I do have some good news. I will be receiving a lymphedema pump either tomorrow or next Tuesday. Insurance finally came through and is covering it 100 percent. I will use it for about an hour a day to massage my legs, and then hopefully be able to wear stockings instead of the layers of wraps. Also, Monday i have an appointment with the pulmonologist to go over my first 30 days with the new CPAP and give me my final clearance!

Things are also progressing in my search for housing. I have completed applications into Allen Park, Taylor, Southgate, and Lincoln Park, the latter with the shortest waiting list for studio units in River Rouge. I may hear back on that one in the next week or so.

Thank you as always for all of your support, love, and prayers. You mean the world to me. Talk to you soon!

2 thoughts on “Back on Track

  1. Great news all around. Best of luck and much prayers for the wound care. Keep your chin and your spirits up, it’s a positive force in healing and recovery. Are you getting the gastric sleeve or bypass? Dr Weerasinghe in our office specializes in Bariatric surgery and is a big advocate for the sleeve, not so much the bypass.
    Xoxo Kat

    Like

Leave a Reply

