Down But Not Out!

Sorry it’s been so long since I’ve written but I have been getting over a setback that occurred at the August Weight Control Center appointment last week. I was shocked to find out that I had actually gained a few pounds since last month. I immediately thought that I had to start the whole process over again, but the staff believes that all may not be lost (no pun intended).

Discussions with the doctor, nurse, and dietician revealed that the weight gain is most likely due to more swelling in my legs and feet from the excessive heat and a return of the lymphedema. My blood pressure was also higher than usual, which also added to the explanation. They doubled the dose of one of my BP meds, and I am going to try to make some more progress getting a lymphedema pump. It seems that the stockings are not doing quite the job that they should be, and I can only wear those during the day and at night is when a pump would be used. So we immediately went back to wrapping my legs pretty much all day and night, and already some swelling and hardness has decreased.

The staff is also doing its best with documentation of my problem so that it should only be a blip on my progress and insurance won’t make me start all over. They made me feel so much better, and not like a total failure, and it is great that they are so supportive of me and the process. With any luck, I will finish my six month journey on October 13! In fact, despite the setback, I got more information on what happens next. The center will approve my file, and then I will consult my surgeon. After seeing him, they will submit everything to insurance, and then upon approval from that, schedule a date. Also during that time I will be going to special nutrition classes since I will be on a liquid diet for two weeks before and two weeks after surgery. They did a blood test now checking all of my vitamin levels and other things that are not always on a regular panel. I will find out in September whether i need any supplements before surgery.

Also, we decided that I will wait to make the final decision on which procedure until I see the surgeon and hear what he believes would be most beneficial for me personally.

Other than that, I do have other good news on the medical front. I got a brand new CPAP machine on Wednesday! It is very quiet, and is so less cumbersome that it feels weird so far ha-ha.  I have to use it for 30 days, and then go to my pulmonologist on September 12 with my data card from the machine so that they can prove to insurance that I am actually using it. At that appointment he will give me his clearance for surgery, and all of my extra hoops will have been jumped through!

Thank you everyone for all of the kind words and encouragement, it means the world to me more than you will ever know. I have some more exciting news but as it is after midnight I will come back tomorrow night and return to my story.

I love you all!

One thought on “Down But Not Out!

  1. The first thing I thought about when you had a slight gain was the heat. It really screws with your weight loss. Keep it up sweetie you are almost there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

